Nick Evans


chosen specifically…
October 31, 2008, 2:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was reading in my Bible this morning in John chapter 1. Of-course, this first chapter is packed with life giving verses and theology, but the thing that hit me this morning was in verses 43 – 45. 

43 The next day Jesus decided to leave for Galilee. Finding Philip, he said to him, “Follow me.” 44 Philip, like Andrew and Peter, was from the town of Bethsaida. 45 Philip found Nathanael and told him, “We have found the one Moses wrote about in the Law, and about whom the prophets also wrote – Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph.”

     So I was reading this passage and I thought, “Oh, isn’t that lucky for Philip that Jesus happened to pick him. That’s what I call being in the right place at the right time!” As I read further I noticed in verse 45 that somebody else was found. The thing that caught my eye was that in the 45th verse Philip went to find Nathanael. He was like, “This is awesome I have to find Nathanael and tell him!” I asked myself what is the difference between verse 45 and 43 it looks like the same word, at least it was the same thing two people were found, Philip and Nathanael. 

     I looked up the greek words for find/finding in those two verses and they were the same word. Now granted, the same word can be defined in many different ways but within the context of this passage and in Scripture the principle is the same.

     Philip, was found, just like Nathanael was found. Jesus had purposed to find Philip and latter even He found Nathanael. If you look at the verse again it says, ” The next day Jesus decided to leave for Galilee.” This doesn’t sound like, “Hmmm, where should I go today?” This was a calculated decision that Jesus made, exactly like the calculated, premeditated calling of Philip, and ultimately Nathanael.

     The truth that I pulled from this verse was that we are all chosen by God to follow Him. This is a calculated, premeditated decision. You are not a mistake, God loves you and chose you, and through Jesus Christ we are blessed. John 1:16-17 “16 From the fullness of His grace we have all received one blessing after another.17 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.”

     I know that this was a long post but that is good news that I wanted to share with those of you who read my site. Thank you all very much!…nick

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that’s awesome! thanks for sharing! love you!

Comment by Anna Evans

Great insight! We are chosen but still can choose not to be. Keep diggin’

Comment by Jer

awesome babe

Comment by abby




Leave a Reply

